School of Civil Engineering

School Executive

Name Position Location Contact
Professor Carlo Prato Head of School 49-547:1 hos@civil.uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3667
Ms Amy Thams Acting School Manager 49-546:1 a.thams@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4208

School Office

Name Position Location Contact
Ms Natasha Carra Executive Assistant to the Head of School 49-555:1 n.carra@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4498
Mrs Jeannette Watson Senior Administrative Officer 49-544:1 jeannette@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7878
Ms Selina Weller Engagement and Communications Officer 49-545:1 s.weller@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1357
Ms Kelly Rischmiller Manager - ARC Future Timber Hub & Center for Future Timber Structures 49-543:1 k.rischmiller@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1360
Ms Katie Allan Student & Academic Administrator 49-544:2 katie.allan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1397
Ms Alexandria Buhot Casual Administrative Assistant 50-S420:1 a.buhot@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 2486
Mrs Tracey Miller HDR Liaison Officer   hdr.civileng@enquire.uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1169

Academic Staff

Name Position Location Contact Research Area
Dr SangHyung Ahn Lecturer 49-437:1 sanghyung.ahn@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1358
Construction Engineering and Management
Professor Tom Baldock Professor 78-349:1 t.baldock@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9432
Coastal Engineering
Dr Ron Blackwell Associate Professor   r.blackwell@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Structural Engineering
Dr Dave Callaghan Senior Lecturer 49-444:1 dave.callaghan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3517
Coastal Engineering
Professor Hubert Chanson Professor 49-553:1 h.chanson@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3516
Hydraulic Engineering
Dr Shu Jian Chen Lecturer in Structural Engineering 49-539:1 shujian.chen@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1359
Structural Engineering
Professor Bill Clarke Professor 49-424:1 william.clarke@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 6464
Environmental Engineering
Dr Remo Cossu Senior Lecturer 49-541:1 r.cossu@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 9117
Environmental Engineering
Dr Vinh Dao Senior Lecturer 49-540:1 v.dao@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4162
Structural Engineering
Dr Joe Gattas Senior Lecturer 49-552:1 j.gattas@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 3009
Structural Engineering
Associate Professor Badin Gibbes Associate Professor 49-426:1 b.gibbes@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 9151
Environmental Engineering
Professor Mark Hickman Professor & Chair Transport Engineering 50-S417:1 m.hickman1@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3692
Transport Engineering
Transport and Population Research Network
Dr Juan Hidalgo Senior Lecturer 49-551:1 j.hidalgo@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3838
Fire Safety Engineering
Structural Engineering
Dr Jurij Karlovsek Lecturer 49-443:1 j.karlovsek@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1686
Geotechnical Engineering
Dr Jiwon Kim Senior Lecturer 50-S415:1 jiwon.kim@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 3008
Transport Engineering
Professor Sritawat Kitipornchai Professor 49-548:1 s.kitipornchai@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3655
Structural Engineering
Dr David Lange Senior Lecturer 49-423:1 d.lange@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 6646
Fire Safety Engineering
Dr Cristian Maluk Senior Lecturer 49-439:1 c.maluk@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3518
Fire Safety Engineering
Structural Engineering
Dr Matthew Mason Senior Lecturer 49-550:1 matthew.mason@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4126
Structural Engineering
Professor Neil McIntyre UQ Amplify Researcher 47A-556:1 n.mcintyre@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 4038
Professor Peter Nielsen Professor 49-445:1 p.nielsen@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3510
Coastal Engineering
Associate Professor Liza O'Moore Associate Professor and Associate Dean Academic (EAIT) 49-549:1 l.omoore@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3899
Structural Engineering
Dr Lisa-Mareike Ottenhaus Lecturer in Structural Engineering 49-542:1 l.ottenhaus@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1399
Structural Engineering
Dr Dorival Pedroso Senior Lecturer 49-446:1 d.pedroso@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3745
Structural Engineering
Associate Professor Ilje Pikaar Associate Professor 49-425:1 i.pikaar@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 1389
Environmental Engineering
Professor Alexander Scheuermann Professor 49-440:1 a.scheuermann@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8720
Geotechnical Engineering
Dr Mehdi Serati Lecturer 49-435:1 m.serati@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3911
Geotechnical Engineering
Dr Adnan Sufian Lecturer 49-446B:1 a.sufian@uq.edu.au
334 61352
Geotechnical Engineering
Dr Denys Villa Gomez Lecturer 49-442:1 d.villagomez@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3857
Geotechnical Engineering
Professor CM Wang Professor and Main Roads Chair of Structures 49-446A:1 cm.wang@uq.edu.au
336 54356
Structural Engineering
Dr Felix Wiesner Lecturer 49-433:1 f.wiesner@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 8395
Structural Engineering
Professor David Williams Professor 49-441:1 d.williams@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3642
Geotechnical Engineering
Dr Mehmet Yildirimoglu Lecturer 50-S413:1 m.yildirimoglu@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3525
Transport Engineering
Associate Professor Zuduo Zheng Associate Professor 50-S414:1 zuduo.zheng@uq.edu.au
31371
Transport Engineering

Research Staff

Name Position Location Contact
Dr Simon Albert Senior Research Fellow 49-434:1 s.albert@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4295
Mr Ryan Beecroft Research Officer 49-421:29 r.beecroft@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7821
Dr Thierry Bore ARC DECRA 49-429:2 t.bore@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Jeronimo Carrascal Fire Lab Manager & Senior Research Technologist 49-421:39 j.carrascaltirado@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1092
Mr Markus Fluggen Environmental Lab Manager & Senior Research Technologist 49-421:38 m.fluggen@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7418
Dr Alistair Grinham Senior Research Fellow 49-434:2 a.grinham@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4295
Dr Dan He Postdoctoral Research Fellow 50-S412:2 d.he@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Dongyao Jia Research Fellow 50-S412:4 d.jia@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Van Thuan Nguyen Research Fellow 49-237:1 van.t.nguyen@uq.edu.au
336 53875
Dr Jeeban Poudel Postdoctoral Research Fellow 49-421:31 j.poudel@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Sebastian Quintero Geotechnical Lab Manager & Senior Research Technologist 49-106C:2 s.quintero@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7078
Dr Jake Whitehead Research Fellow 50-S419:2 j.whitehead@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1123
Dr Luis Yerman Martinez Research Fellow 49-421:35 l.yerman@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3520
Dr Chenming Zhang Research Fellow 49-429:32 chenming.zhang@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7821
Dr Yunpeng Zhang Advance Queensland Industry Research Fellow 49-447:3 y.zhang16@uq.edu.au
 

Technical Staff

Name Position Location Contact
Mr Stewart Matthews Technical Assistant 49-105:2 stewart@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3901
Mr Fraser Reid Senior Laboratory Manager 49-238:1 fraser@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3603
Mr Chris Russ Principal Scientific Officer 49-237:2 c.russ@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3875
Mr Jason Van Der Gevel Senior Laboratory Technician 49-105:1 jason@civil.uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3901
Mr Shane Walker Workplace Health & Safety Compliancy Officer 49-241:2 s.walker@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4410

Emeritus and Adjunct Staff

Name Position Location Contact
Emeritus Professor Colin Apelt Emeritus Professor   c.apelt@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Adjunct Professor Harry Asche Adjunct Professor   h.asche@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Honorary Professor Graham Baker Honorary Professor   g.baker@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Habibullah Bhuyan Adjunct 49-447:3 h.bhuyan@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3523
Professor Philip Charles Honorary Professor   p.charles@uq.edu.au
 
Dr Claudia Cherubini Honorary Lecturer   c.cherubini@uq.edu.au
 
Emeritus Professor Peter Dux Emeritus Professor   p.dux@uq.edu.au
Off Campus
Dr Xinqian (Sophia) Leng Honorary Research Fellow   x.leng@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1349
Emeritus Professor David Lockington Chair & Professor in Hydrology   d.lockington@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 4054
Dr Partha Narayan Mishra Adjunct Lecturer 49-447:1 p.mishra@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 9820
Dr Andres Osorio Adjunct Lecturer   a.osorio@uq.edu.au
 
Dr David Wainwright Adjunct Research Fellow   d.wainwright2@uq.edu.au
Off Campus

Postgraduate Students

Name Position Location Contact
Mr Mohammad Alipour Research Scholar 49-421:14 m.alipour@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Alejandro Astorga Moar Research Scholar 78-219:1 a.astorgamoar@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Ms Stephanie Ballon Romero Research Scholar 49-535:22 s.ballonromero@uqconnect.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1349
Mr Jaime Cadena Research Scholar 49-421:19 je.cadena@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3568
Mr Wenran Cao Research Scholar 49-429:26 wenran.cao@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mrs Diana Casimiro-Soriguer Research Scholar 49-421:23 d.soriguer@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7418
Mr Yun Il Chu Research Scholar 49-535:33 yunil.chu@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Hernan Cifuentes Research Scholar 49-421:10 h.cifuentes@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8707
Juan Cuevas Rodriguez Research Scholar 49-421:24 j.cuevas@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7418
Mr Arosha Dabarera Research Scholar 49-535:10 a.dabarera@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Nathaniel Deering Research Scholar 49-421:30 n.deering@uq.edu.au
 
Mr David Cameron Edwards Research Scholar   d.edwards6@uq.edu.au
 
Ms Elahe Etemadikhosroshahi Research Scholar 49-535:11 e.etemadikhosroshahi@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Arinze Ezieke Research Scholar 49-421:15 a.ezieke@uqconnect.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3568
Ms Shanelle Fernando Research Scholar   s.fernando@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Ali Gohari Research Scholar 49-421:8 a.gohari@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8707
Ms Einat Grimberg Research Scholar 49-421:27 e.grimberg@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7418
Mr Vinny Gupta Research Scholar 49-421:26 v.gupta@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7418
Ms Mengmeng Han Research Scholar 49-535:19 mengmeng.han@uqconnect.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1349
Mr Jason Harley Research Scholar 49-535:25 j.harley@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Craig Heatherington Research Scholar 49-429:4 c.heatherington@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3568
Ms Kristie Higginson Research Scholar 82K-K102:3 k.higginson@uq.edu.au
54249
Mr Samuel Hislop-Lynch Research Scholar   s.hisloplynch@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7821
Mr Mosaruf Hussan Research Scholar 49-535:9 m.hussan@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Nicholas Hutley Research Scholar 49-421:37 nicholas.hutley@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Sheikh Manirul Islam Research Scholar 49-535:20 sheikhmanirul.islam@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Ms Sujeeta Karki Research Scholar 49-421:32 s.karki@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Ms Ezgi Kaya Research Scholar 82K-K102:4 e.kaya@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3568
Mr Danish Kazmi Research Scholar 49-447:18 d.kazmi@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Sakitha Kumarage Research Scholar 49-535:37 s.kumarage@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Orrin Lancaster Research Scholar 49-421:40 orrin.lancaster@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Liang Li Research Scholar 49-447:12 liang.li@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 8391
Mr Youkai Li Research Scholar 49-535:13, 49-535:15 youkai.li@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 3352
Mr Congrui Li Research Scholar 49-429:7 congrui.li@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1352
Ms Lin Lin Research Scholar 49-421:11 l.lin2@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Scott Lines Research Scholar 31B-204:1 s.lines@uq.edu.au
 
Mr Xiaocheng Liu Research Scholar 49-421:9 xiaocheng.liu@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Yue Liu Research Scholar 49-421:12 yue.liu5@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Junwei Lyu Research Scholar 49-535:23 junwei.lyu@uqconnect.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1349
Mr Mutaz Mahmoud Research Scholar 49-447:17 m.mahmoud@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Suyash Mandal Research Scholar 49-421:33 suyash.mandal@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Julian Mendez Alvarez Research Scholar 49-447:7 j.mendez@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Harry Mills Research Scholar 49-447:10 harry.mills@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Huu Phu Nguyen Research Scholar 49-535:24 huuphu.nguyen@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1352
Mr Jeong-Cheol Park Research Scholar 49-535:12 jeongcheol.park@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Ms Larissa Perez Research Scholar 49-535:8 l.perez@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Ian Pope Research Scholar 49-535:35 i.pope@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1352
Mr Mohamad Lutfi Ramadhan Research Scholar 49-421:21 m.lutfiramadhan@uqconnect.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7418
Ms Samia Razzaque Research Scholar 49-447:14 samia.razzaque@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Ms Elham Saffari Research Scholar 49-421:2 e.saffari@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Souvik Saha Research Scholar   souvik.saha@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Rui Shi Research Scholar 49-535:14 rui.shi@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Mehdi Taghavi Research Scholar 50-S412:1 m.taghavi@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 8707
Mr Duy Tran Research Scholar 49-429:20 duy.tran@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 7821
Mr David van Drimmelen Research Scholar 49-535:26 d.vandrimmelen@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Thanh Vo Tran Research Scholar 49-421:3 t.tranvo@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Peter Wilson Research Scholar 82K-K103:4 p.j.wilson@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Ananth Wuppukondur Reseach Scholar 78-219:3 a.wuppukondur@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3912
Mr Hons Wyn Research Scholar 49-421:7 h.wyn@uq.edu.au
+61 7 3346 1660
Mr Zhongyu Xu Research Scholar 49-447:15 zhongyu.xu@uq.edu.au
58391
Mr Hangyu Xu Research Scholar 49-535:7 hangyu.xu@uqconnect.edu.au
+61 7 3443 1092
Mr Der-Shen Yang Research Scholar 49-447:16 dershen.yang@uqconnect.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3912
Mrs Miriam Yap Gabon Research Scholar 49-421:20 m.yapgabon@uq.edu.au
67418
Mr Abdulrahman Zaben Research Scholar 49-429:24 a.zaben@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Sergio Zarate Orrego Research Scholar 49-447:11 s.zarateorrego@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Gengshuo Zhang Research Scholar 49-447:4 gengshuo.zhang@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Wenqiang Zhang Research Scholar 49-429:31 wenqiang.zhang1@uqconnect.edu.au
 
Mr Yunpeng Zhu Research Scholar 49-421:34 yunpeng.zhu@uqconnect.edu.au
+61 7 3365 3568