School of Civil Engineering

Engagement Committee

Chair - Dr Joe Gattas

Membership of this committee:

  • Denys Villa Gomez (Environmental)
  • Jake Whitehead (Transport)
  • Juan Cuevas Rodriguez (Fire Safety)
  • Jurij Karlovsek (Geotechnical)
  • Kyle Williams (EAIT Faculty Representative)
  • TBA (Technical Staff Representative)
  • Weiqi Cui (Student rep - Structural)

The Secretary for correspondence is currently Ms Selina Weller

Industry Advisory Board

Chair – Dr David Finch, DRAMEK Pty Ltd

Membership of the current board is: 

  • Ms Chantal Donnelly, Bureau of Meteorology
  • Mr Marco Ficca, ADG Consulting Engineers
  • Ms Isabella Foldvary, President, CESA
  • Ms Marianne Foley, ARUP
  • Dr Joe Gattas, Director, Engagement
  • Ms Lydia Gentle OAM, BHP
  • Mr Ken Jacobs, Transport Main Roads
  • Mr Trevor Johnson, KTLAR Pty Ltd 
  • Professor Carlo Prato, Head of School
  • Ms Amy Thams, School Manager
  • Ms Hannah Richardson, PSA Consulting

The Secretary for correspondence is Ms Natasha Carra

Terms of Reference

International Committee

Chair - Dr Matthew Mason

Membership of this committee:

  • Simon Albert
  • Remo Cossu
  • Vinh Dao
  • Juan Hidalgo
  • Jurij Karlovsek
  • Ilje Pikaar
  • Mehdi Serati
  • Denys Villa Gomez
  • Mehmet Yildirimoglu
  • Zuduo Zheng

The secretary for correspondence is Ms Katie Allan

Health, Safety and Wellness Committee

Chair - Amy Thams (School Manager)

  • Ryan Anderson (EAIT HSW & Facilities Manager)
  • Jeronimo Carrascal (Lab Manager)
  • TBA (Technical Staff)
  • Markus Fluggen (Lab Manager)
  • Alistair Grinham (Academic Staff)
  • Cindy Mossop (EAIT HSW Coordinator)
  • Carlo Prato (Interim Head of School)
  • Sebastian Quintero (Lab Manager)
  • Fraser Reid (Senior Laboratory Manager)
  • Shane Walker (Civil WHSC and Committee Secretary)

The secretary for correspondence is Mr Shane Walker

Terms of Reference

Click here to go to the Occupational Health and Safety page.

Promotions and Review Committee

Chair - Prof Bill Clarke

Research Committee

Chair - Dr Cristian Maluk

Membership of this committee is:

  • Prof Carlo Prato (Interim Head of School)
  • Prof Mark Hickman (Deputy Post Graduate Coordinator, Transport)
  • Dr David Callaghan (Coastal)
  • Prof Peter Nielsen (Coastal)
  • Dr Alistair Grinham (Environmental)
  • Dr Lisa Ottenhaus (Structural)
  • Dr Mehdi Serati (Geotechnical)
  • Prof Alex Scheuermann (Geotechnical) 
  • Md Habibullah Bhuyan (Postdoctoral representative, Geotechnical)
  • Mr Harry Mills (Student representative, Structures)

The Secretary for correspondence is Katie Allan.

Teaching and Learning Committee

Chair - Dr Vinh Dao

Membership of this committee is:

  • SangHyung Ahn (Structures)
  • Tom Baldock (Coastal)
  • Remo Cossu (Water)
  • Badin Gibbes (Environmental)
  • Jiwon Kim (Transport)
  • David Lange (Fire)
  • Ilje Pikaar (Water)
  • Liza O'Moore (AD(Academic))
  • Philip Terrill (Deputy ADA, 1st Year)
  • TBA (Library services)
  • Mr Utkrist Paudyal (Student representative)
  • Amy Thams (School Manager)

The Secretary for correspondence is Mrs Jeannette Watson